The Couriot well, classified as a historic monument, is a remarkable site that evokes the adventure of Saint Stephen around coal. The mine was extinguished here in 1973. Today, the headboard and the two slag dumps that accompany it, monumental hills of coal washing waste, are an emblem of the mining adventure of St. Stephen.
Puits Couriot :
The layout of the site has retained all traces of the work of men. The emotion is everywhere present. The large sink, the compressor room, and the major areas of the well have been kept in the State. The presence of the men of the mine is felt at every moment, even though they have now definitively left Couriot. A guided tour of 1h15 during which you will descend to the bottom and discover a gallery. A total immersion in the world and the lives of minors.
Parc Joseph Sanguedolce,
3 Boulevard Maréchal Franchet D’esperey, 42000 Saint-Étienne
Tel 04 77 43 83 23
Museum of modern and contemporary art
The Museum of modern and contemporary art of Saint-Étienne Métropole (MAMC +) is the first Museum of modern art created in the region in 1987. His collection of nearly 20 000 works is one of the most important in France. It includes a majority of works from the twentieth century, but also a collection of ancient art, design and photographs. Its luminous building accommodates about 60 000 visitors per year in 3 000 sqm of exhibition space. Each year, a dozen exhibitions invite the public to discover the collection, but also the creation of today with international figures or young creators
Rue Fernand Léger – 42270 Saint-Priest-en-Jarez
Tel 04 77 79 52 52
Le musée des verts
The first French museum dedicated to football, the Museum of the Greens is located in an exceptional place, the Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, the mythical "cauldron". Whether you are a supporter or a simple curious, come relive the highlights of a legendary Club!
14 rue Paul et Pierre Guichard 42028 Saint-Etienne
1er étage à l’angle sud-ouest du Stade Geoffroy-Guichard
textile and tie museum
The Museum opened its doors in 1995. The first visits quickly make it clear to the Association the interest of such an industrial site of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, where still resonates the work of men on the looms. From the old Office of the boss to the garden, through the factory and the laundry, discover the history of weaving in the mountains of the morning the tie and its confection, thanks to a collection of more than 1000 ties of all styles and different eras: polka dots, stripes, cashmere, knits and many original! The gauze to bluter, the silks, the damasceni, 2 looms… you will discover that the morning mountains have thus become a land of excellence, where the know-how is put at the service of the greatest of Haute Couture.
Musée du tissage et de la soierie
Place Vaucanson – 42510 BUSSIERES
Tel 04 77 27 33 95
It was in 1980 that the Association of the winegrowers of the foréziens to create a Museum of wine and the daily of the winegrowers of the Plaine du Forez that it installs in the Château de Boën, classified historical monument in 1943. The Museum relates the work of the land and the vine during the XIX and XX centuries in the Plaine du Forez. You will understand the vineyard development of the forézien territory, the tools used at the time, the different diseases of the vine and their treatments, but also the maintenance of the vine over the seasons. A reconstruction of the forezienne kitchen and the Chamber of winegrowers of the twentieth century, this immersion in the past will show you the habits and customs of our ancestors. Workshops to develop your sense of smell will also be at your disposal at the end of the visit
Place de la république 42130 Boën-sur-Lignon
Tel : 04 77 24 08 12
fourme & traditions museum
Push the traditional farm gate of the Forez, on a 15th century site and enter this museum. On 800m ² a journey in time awaits you: the pastoral mountain, the manufacture of the fourme, the harvest of the gentian and the Blueberry, the rye "from the sowing to the black bread", the hemp and the wool (collection of rouets), the long sawers, the clog , the foréziens trees, the forge with the Wheelwright and blacksmith… the life of the campaign in the last century.
Le bourg 42 990 Sauvain
Tel : 04 77 76 30 04
workshop hat museum
At the beginning of the twentieth century, Chazelles-sur-Lyon experienced its climax and became the main city of production of the luxury felt hat in France (28 factories and 2 500 workers in 1930). Its fame far exceeds national borders with brands such as Fléchet, France, Morreton. The evolution of post-war fashion has a fatal blow to this industry, the last representative of which in Chazelles and France closed its doors in 1997. The chapeau Museum, which has become the Atelier-Musee, opens its doors in 1983. Its creation
followed the period of decline of the local multisecular mono-industry of the millinery. It is committed to the conservation of the hat-making memory and to the active safeguarding of know-how. It is labelled “Musée de France”. No less than 4 000 head coverings from the 18th to the present, 10 000 objects useful in the making of a hat, paintings, photos, advertising everything evokes the golden age of the millinery. A workshop attached to the active conservation of know-how and a Milliner who makes unique pieces.
31 Rue Martouret, 42140 Chazelles-sur-Lyon
Tel : 04 77 94 23 29
There are in the plain of the Forez and its surroundings buildings, villages, points of view that will mark your stay. We have selected a few whose visit is unavoidable.
La bâtie d’Urfé
Jewel of the Renaissance in the plain of Forez. The legend says that an underground link would connect the Perichons to the built D’urfé. The site traces with elegance and timelessness the history
of the family of Urfé. This castle was built in the 16Th century in the taste of the Renaissance at the initiative of Claude D’urfé, by Italian artists. It is full of unusual creations: white walls, open gallery on
the outside, the Rocailles Hall adorned with mythological representations made of pebbles, shells and sand, the chapel decorated with gypsum, paintings and earthenware, furniture and Tapestries. The Garden features geometric flowerbeds of boxwood and IFS and houses a white marble fountain under a Rotunde.
Take a guided tour, the quality and erudition of the guide’s comments will fill the most discerning visitors.
1061 Route de la Bâtie d’Urfé 42130 Saint-Étienne-le-Molard
Tel : 04 77 97 54 68
The history of the Priory of Pommiers begins in the middle ages. A community of Benedictine monks from the Abbey of NANTUA settled on the commune in the 9th century. A century later, the community is under the influence of the Abbey of Cluny. The Priory and its church are reconstructed. From then on, the monks will live this way for nearly a thousand years. At the French Revolution, the Priory was confiscated as "national property" and the monastic community was dispersed. In the 19th and 20th centuries, the Priory became the property of the Bourganel family and was transformed into a nursing home for priests. Since 1991, the General Council has been watching for its restoration and the animation of this magical place.
Le Bourg 42260 Pommiers Tel 04 77 65 46 22
Founded around 1280 by a community of Franciscan friars, the convent has an evented history. Destroyed in 1360, it is rebuilt at the end of the 14Th century, before being sold well nationwide. The cloister is classified as an emergency among the historical monuments. Occupied by the Friars Minor Conventuels, it was closed in 1792. Only the cloister, the Church and the "library " of the religious remain today. The large cloister, in Gothic style radiating, has a very neat decoration. Its Northern Gallery in particular is adorned with figurative capitals representing with humour the vices and virtues. The adjoining Church (late 14Th century) is notable for its apparent oak framing, dating from the late seventeenth century, and its mural paintings of the 14Th, 15Th and 16Th centuries
Chemin des Cordeliers 42190 Saint-Nizier-sous-Charlieu
Tel : 04 77 60 07 42
Founded around 875, the Benedictine Abbey of Charlieu is attached in 932 to the great Burgundian Abbey of Cluny. This monastic ensemble is endowed with unique architectural qualities : medieval houses of the city, tour Philippe Auguste, defensive Dungeon. Excavations have uncovered three churches built on the same site at 9th, 10Th and 11th. The great portal, whose decoration is inspired by the book of revelation, is a masterpiece of the Romanesque art of the 12Th century. The cloister, from the end of the fifteenth, opens onto the Chapter Hall (15Th, remarkable lectern) by a Romanesque Colonnade. From here you can reach the chapel of the prior (late 15Th), then to the courtyard of the Hotel du prior (early sixteenth).
Place de l’Abbaye 42190 Charlieu Tel 04 77 60 09 97
Château de la Roche
Anchored on a rocky peak of 40 meters since the 13Th century, the Château de la Roche is the emblematic monument of the Gorges de la Loire. By its improbable situation in overhang of the River, it was a sentry post, feudal toll point. From the middle ages to the Empire, families will leave their traces and rocambolesque stories often linked to the whims of the river. The dam project was opened and its owners expropriated. EDF acquires the property. The place is abandoned, dedicated to the outrages of time. In 1983; the Villerest dam is set up and the Castle finds its feet in the water. The residents are mobilising to save the building. In 1993, the commune of St priest en Jarrez becomes owner for a symbolic franc! Since then, an ambitious programme of development has been implemented to give back to the monument “its letters of nobility” and its place in the touristic and cultural landscape.
Route touristique des Bords de Loire 42590 Saint-Priest-la-Roche
Tel : 04 77 64 97 68
Sainte croix en Jarez
Located on the foothills of the Massif du Pilat, in the heart of the regional natural park. This surprising place welcomed a community of monks following the rule of Saint Bruno for five centuries. In 1792, the Chartreuse becomes well national, the monks are hunted and leave room for families in the vicinity. The monastery then becomes a village and retains a particular architecture that makes it its originality. l is ranked among the most beautiful villages in France.
Le Bourg 42800 Sainte-Croix-en-Jarez
The Priory of Champdieu represents a monastic ensemble built from the 11th century. rich in carved capitals, the church stands out by its semi-buried crypt of the 11th century, while the refectory still retains a 15Th century fresco depicting the last supper. The construction of the monastery and the Church begins in the 12Th century, which will impose its Romanesque forms on the entire building. The Priory, like the medieval village, will then be fortified on the occasion of the war of 100 years in the 14Th and 15Th centuries. The construction of this monastic complex will end in the sixteenth century with the realization of a Gothic Chapel. Abandoned, then sold after the French Revolution, the whole Priory was redeemed during the twentieth century by the commune of Champdieu to be rehabilitated in the cultural centre.
Place de l’église 42600 Champdieu